facade of student center

The University of North Texas at Dallas (UNT Dallas) School of Education students have been awarded the Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers. The Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers – one component of the Raising Texas Teachers initiative – is designed to encourage the best and brightest students to consider a future in the teaching profession.

“The Raise Your Hands Texas Foundation has afforded UNT Dallas and our students many opportunities including this wonderful scholarship that covers their tuition and fees through degree completion. We also have School of Education team members who participate in the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching webinars and professional development opportunities with the Foundation,” stated Lisa D. Hobson, PhD, Professor and Interim Dean of the School of Education.

Charles Butt Scholars commit to teaching in majority economically disadvantaged Texas public schools or in hard-to-fill subject areas and receive up to $8,000 in annual funding for up to four years, as well as ongoing professional development opportunities, mentorship from current public school educators, and participation in a statewide aspiring teachers network facilitated by the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation. UNT Dallas is one of just 13 premier university programs chosen to partner with Raising Texas Teachers.

Dr. Patsy Sosa-Sanchez, Assistant Dean of the School of Education shared, “The scholarship not only provides tuition funding, but our scholars have student leadership opportunities and will participate in the Annual Charles Butt Scholars Symposium. Our students will engage in high-quality professional development on valuable topics such as: strategies for helping K-12 students learn, serving diverse learners, engaging families, wellness, and social-emotional learning.” 

The ten UNT Dallas Charles Butt Scholar recipients are: Arlene Aguilar, Jessica Hernandez, Mario Mondragon, Brenda Montalvo, Cecilia Martinez, Yosselin Nolasco, Kenedi Parra, Megan Salgado, Yazmin Vigil, and Jennifer Westmoreland.

 “We are enormously grateful for these Charles Butt Scholarships that help transform promising students into highly skilled bilingual teachers,” said UNT President Bob Mong.  “These teachers in training will make a huge difference once they are in the classrooms. We appreciate Charles Butt Scholarships for their faith in our students.”