For only the second time in school history, the University of North Texas at Dallas hosted the “Jag Awards” event for students, staff and faculty to be recognized for their wonderful contributions in making UNT Dallas one of the top emerging institutions in the nation.   

“We decided last year that we needed something to recognize how great our student leaders are,” said Jennifer Skinner, who is the Assistant Dean of Students for Student Engagement. “We didn’t want to give out participation ribbons, but we also wanted to recognize the great things that our students are doing.”

To begin the night President Bob Mong provided words of gratitude and encouragement on why it is important for students to take full advantage of the college experience. As the evening progressed, Skinner and other staff members presented the special awards to the students and staff members.  

“We’ve been working with a hub vendor here in south Dallas to put together some really cool awards for the students that they can actually be proud of to put on their desk, especially once they graduate and go off to their career field.”

Here’s a list of the award recipients:

UNT Dallas Newman Civic Fellow: Lisbeth Morales

Freshman of the Year: Christina Zuniga

Outstanding Presidential Jaguar Scholar: Alejandra Villanuevea 

Student Veteran of the Year: Randoph Brewster

Student Organization President of the Year: Whitney Faggins

Residence Life Legacy: Jullian Hannie, Andy Carranza, Elizabeth Galvan & Wayne McInnis Jr.

Student Organization Program of the Year: Public Health Student Association for “Flu Shot Drive”

Student Organization of the Year: Public Health Student Association

Sorority Woman of the Year: Jennifer Contreras

Fraternity Man of the Year: Erick Solis

Greek Organization of the Year: Phi Beta Sigma

SGA Member of the Year: Yareli Jasso

Servant Leader of the Year: Pamela Washington

Jaguar Community Impact: Monica DaVila

Student Employee of the Year: Yareli Jasso

Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award: Dr. Paul Reynolds

Emerging Leader Award: Isaiah Smith

Outstanding Student Access and Success Professional: Michelle Hurdle

Jaguar Legacy Award: Erick Solis & Berenice Zuniga