The University of North Texas at Dallas was recently named one of 40 institutions in the country selected for a First-Year Experience pilot program by the Association of American State Colleges and Universities (AASCU). 

The three-year program, Re-Imagining the First Year of College, will focus on increasing student success by re-thinking programs, policies and practices that affect first year students. 

“At UNT Dallas, we are relentlessly committed to student success,” said Bob Mong, president of UNT Dallas. “Having a distinctive first-year program is an essential element of our strategy as a fairly young university, and we are honored to be a part of AASCU’s pilot program working to improve degree completion rates. Reimagining the first-year experience will become an integral part of our effort to inspire our students’ pathway to degree completion, and their entry into a world of lifelong learning.”

According to AASCU, the ground-breaking work will offer insight and understanding of the first-year experience that can be used at all 420 AASCU institutions and beyond.  The program kicks off in early February when UNT Dallas’ Campus Innovation Committee meets with AASCU and the other institutions in Austin to begin planning. The team will include a broad spectrum of university faculty and staff from academic affairs, student affairs, assessment, institutional research, faculty leadership, and other areas.

About UNT Dallas

The University of North Texas at Dallas (UNT Dallas) is the only regionally accredited, public university in the City of Dallas. A member of the University of North Texas System, UNT Dallas is rapidly becoming a university of first choice as a result of the personal involvement of faculty, student support resources, affordability, location, and the relevancy of programs and degrees to career offerings in the region. The university offers 21 undergraduate and six graduate degree programs in high-demand fields including criminal justice, teacher education, business, sociology, and counseling. UNT Dallas is home to four academic schools and one professional school: School of Business, School of Education, School of Human Services, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and the College of Law.


The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) is a Washington, D.C.-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities, and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.


By: Ashley Johnson, PR/Communication Director, or 972-338-1098

Date: January 12, 2016