University of North Texas at Dallas Academic Council Minutes

September 27, 2022, 3:00pm

Voting Members

Dr. Bill Ingram, Assistant Dean, School of Business Dr. Constance Lacy, Dean, School of Human Services Dr. Orlando Perez, Dean, School of Liberal Arts & Sciences Dr. Ali Shaqlaih, Dean, Graduate School Felecia Epps, J.D., Dean, College of Law Dr. John E. Coleman, Faculty Senate Vice President Brenda Robertson, University Librarian Breanna Solis, SGA Vice-President

Absent: Dr. Christine Remley, *Dean, School of Education* Rian Wilhite, *Director, Academic Advising*

Non-Voting Members

Dr. Betty H. Stewart, Provost and EVP for Academic Affairs Luis Franco, University Director of Undergraduate Admissions Dr. Dawn Remmers, Assistant Provost Dr. Kimberly Chandler, Director of University Accreditation & Policy Allison Scott, Staff Council Representative Garrick Hildebrand, Director of Financial Aid VACANT, Director of Distance Learning Hector Govea, University Registrar

Other Invitees

- I. Call to Order
- II. Welcome and Introductions
- III. Old Business

With there being no Old Business to discuss, the Council moved on to New Business.

- IV. New Business
 - A. Approval of minutes May 24, 2022

Dean Lacy made a motion to approve the May 2022 minutes. Dean Shaqlaih moved to second it. All in favor and none opposed. Motion passed with eight of ten voting. (closed)

B. Student Complaint Processes (Dr. Dawn Remmers) – See Appendix I

Dean Lacy made a motion to approve the Student Complaint Process Policy. Dean Shaqlaih moved to second it. All in favor and none opposed. Motion passed with eight of ten voting. (closed)

C. Curriculum Development and Review (Dr. Dawn Remmers) - See Appendix II

Brenda Robertson made a motion to approve the Curriculum Development and Review Policy. Dean Perez moved to second it. All in favor and none opposed. Motion passed with eight of ten voting. (closed)

D. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Bylaws (Dr. William Ingram) - See Appendix III

Assistant Dean Ingram made a motion to approve the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Bylaws. Dean Perez moved to second it. All in favor and none opposed. Motion passed with eight of ten voting. (closed)

V. Adjourned at 3:32 pm.

Respectfully submitted September 30, 2022 Laila Mertz Executive Assistant to Provost and EVP of Academic Affairs