A student may be classified as a resident or non-resident according to the information submitted on the ApplyTexas application or the LSAC (for College of Law). If a student has been classified as a non-resident, the student will be charged and must pay out-of-state tuition and fees prior to establishing Texas residency.
The following are ways a student can be classified as a resident:
2. An applicant or student who:
3. A dependent whose parent:
Submission of the Core Residency Questions and all supporting documentation must be sent to the respective Registrar's office by the census date (see Academic Calendar) of the term for which the student is applying for residency. Applications submitted after the census date will be considered for a future term.
To prove residency in Texas, submit documentation according to one of the pathways below:
Students must be 18 years of age or older to base residency on self through one of the pathways below.
Must work an average of 20 hours per week or pay is sufficient to provide at least one-half of the student’s tuition and living expenses.
The residential real property must be a property owned by the student and/or spouse in the state of Texas. Property outside the state of Texas will not be reviewed for residency purposes.
The business entity must have been established and currently operational in the state of Texas. Documentation of business entities established and currently operational outside the state of Texas will not be reviewed for residency purposes.
A member of the United States Armed Services whose Home of Record with the military is Texas is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children. A member whose Home of Record is not Texas but who provides the institution Leave and Earnings Statements (LES) that show the member has claimed Texas as his or her place of residence for the 12 consecutive months prior to enrollment is presumed to be a Texas resident, as are his or her spouse and dependent children.
Note: Delay in submission of the required documentation necessary for residency review will extend the review/processing time and the student will remain responsible to pay the out-of-state tuition and fees until granted residency.
The Texas residency rules were created by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
For questions, contact the Registrar's Office:
Main Campus: Registrar@untdallas.edu
College of Law: LawRegistrar@untdallas.edu